Tiny Silver Stars Retro 2I am horrible about scheduling myself hair appointments.  I think once I went almost half a year without a haircut.  I don’t know why it’s so hard for me.  Maybe it’s because I’m not the one who has to look at my hair all day, or maybe it’s because I’m just bad at scheduling any appointments in general.  Earlier this spring I was going on vacation to Miami, so I thought it might be nice to try something summery for a change.  So I went ahead and dyed my natural black hair a light, light brown.  It was a shock at first but once I got used to it, I really liked it.

Fast forward four months or so…I now have black roots almost an inch and a half long.  I’m so ashamed!  Aagh!  And since it wasn’t an ombre or anything gentle like that, there literally was a STRAIGHT LINE where the color stopped on my head.  Oops.  I kept meaning to do it later, later later.  But I knew something really needed to be done when my guy friends started asking when I was going to do something about my head.  As in, my guy friends who normally don’t notice if you chop off three inches and dye your hair purple.  (Which I have done before ironically.) My co-workers were politely asking me what I planned to do with my hair next, which really means “you and your roots are an embarrassment to our place of business.  For the love of God please do something!” 

I went for a nice, deep brown.  Overall I am very pleased and think I will stick with this color for quite some time.  I think my natural black hair looks a bit stark against my skin tone, but the light brown was a light.  I’m always a bit hesitant to do anything with my hair because I have the long, straight dark Asian hair that’s both a blessing and a curse.  A blessing because it’s long, straight, and pretty low maintenance.  A curse because it refuses to be anything else without a fight!  Curls disappear within a matter of minutes if not done correctly…attempts at lightening the color risk an angry, brassy shade of orange-brown. “Browange,” my colorist cheerfully informed me when I told her my concerns.  “Don’t worry, I’ve done Asian hair before.  I know what I’m up against.”

Anyways now that I’m sure I’ve completely enthralled you with tales of my hair life, here’s a few pics of the latest style post I put on my Chictopia profile.  It’s part retro, part hipster, and part super cute dog:

Tiny Silver Stars RetroTiny Silver Stars Retro 3

Thank you for reading!

